Posted in:

Cooper Appoints CRC, Other Board Members

RALEIGH — Gov. Roy Cooper’s office announced Friday his appointments to several boards, commissions and councils, including the North Carolina Coastal Resources Commission.

Gov. Roy Cooper

“I am grateful that these well-qualified North Carolinians will help me lead our state forward through their service on these critical state boards and commissions,” said Cooper in a statement.

Coastal Resources Commission

There were five appointments to the 13-member North Carolina Coastal Resources Commission. The commission sets policies for the N.C. Coastal Management Program and adopts rules for both Coastal Area Management Act, or CAMA, and the N.C. Dredge and Fill Act. The commission designates areas of environmental concern, adopts rules and policies for coastal development and certifies local land use plans.

Councilwoman Renee Cahoon of Nags Head was appointed as a member of local government within the coastal area. Cahoon, who served as the commission’s most recent chairperson until her term expired June 30, works at R.V. Cahoon Inc., a retail and rental business. Cahoon has served on the Coastal Resources Commission for 16 years.

Bob Emory of New Bern was appointed to the coastal forestry seat. Emory worked with Weyerhaeuser Co., and held positions in land acquisition, land use and logging and wood procurement. He previously served on the Coastal Resources Commission for 20 years. He replaces outgoing member Bill White, whose term ended June 30.

Robin Smith of Chapel Hill was appointed as a member with experience in marine-related science. Smith is a lawyer with over 25 years of experience in environmental law and policy. Now in private practice, Smith previously served the state as assistant secretary for environment and as a special deputy attorney general. She replaces outgoing member Neal Andrew, whose term ended June 30.

Renee Cahoon

Mayor Trace Cooper of Atlantic Beach, who is serving his sixth term as mayor, was appointed as a coastal property owner. He is the founder of Cooper Development Co., which focuses on hospitality projects and what the governor’s announcement described as “other sustainable, community-oriented development.” He replaces outgoing member Greg Lewis, whose term ended June 30.

Lauren Salter of Williston was appointed as a commercial fishing representative, replacing Denise Gibbs, whose term ended June 30. Salter has worked at the North Carolina Fisheries Association and the state Division of Marine Fisheries.

Cape Fear Navigation and Pilotage Commission

The five-member Cape Fear Navigation and Pilotage Commission had four appointments. The commission licenses and regulates river pilots.

Henry Foy of Wilmington was appointed as a New Hanover County resident. Foy is a retired attorney who has represented clients including Brunswick County, CSX Railroad and Atlantic Telephone Membership Corp.

Owner of International Shipping Co. Inc., Louis Batuyios of Wilmington was appointed as a New Hanover County resident. Batuyios has been in the shipping business for more than 45 years.

Dr. Kurt Scheetz of Southport was appointed as a Brunswick County resident. Scheetz works at his own private practice, Scheetz & Bachara Family Dentistry.

Dave Gardener of Surf City was appointed as a representative of maritime interests. Gardener has deep sea experience with Keystone Shipping, Gulf Coast Trailing, Dutra and B&B Dredging, and has also spent 18 years as owner and operator of a fleet of oceangoing passenger fishing vessels. In addition, Gardener has eight years experience in the Naval Reserve.

Water Infrastructure Authority

Juhann Waller of Greensboro was appointed to the nine-member North Carolina State Water Infrastructure Authority as an engineer in the private sector. Waller is a registered Professional Engineer in North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. He is the founder of JC Waller & Associates, PC, and an adjunct faculty member at NC A&T.

The authority is responsible for awarding federal and state funding for water and wastewater infrastructure projects.

Water Treatment Facility Operators Certification Board

Angela Christian. Photo: Dylan Ray/Carteret County News-Times

There were two appointments to the eight-member North Carolina Water Treatment Facility Operators Certification Board, including the manager of a coastal town. The board is tasked with protecting public investment in water treatment facilities and certifying water treatment facility operators’ competency.

Newport town manager Angela Christian was appointed as a manager of North Carolina municipality using a treated groundwater supply. Christian was previously the chief operations officer and deputy county manager for the Onslow County Government.

Utility director for Wilkesboro, Samuel Call was appointed as a director of utilities with a state municipality. Call previously worked as a water plant superintendent, a water plant operator and a wastewater operator for the Town of Wilkesboro.

Oil and Gas Commission

Two appointments were made to the nine-member North Carolina Oil and Gas Commission, which is responsible for adopting rules on oil and gas exploration in the state.

Councilwoman Rebecca Wyhof Salmon of Sanford was appointed as an elected official of a municipal government. Salmon is the president of Blue Roof Strategies LLC. Salmon previously served as the vice president of the North Carolina Telecommunications Industry Association.

Duke University professor Jim Zhang of Chapel Hill has been appointed as a member experienced in public health. Zhang has taught at several universities in global public health departments, specifically in departments for environmental and occupational public health.

About the Author

Staff Report

The story was compiled by staff members of Coastal Review Online.