Posted in:
  • video

Dare County Orders Evacuation

Dare County Emergency Management Director Drew Person reviews in this video hurricane evacuation and re-entry procedures for the ordered evacuation as Hurricane Florence approaches.

A state of emergency was in force Monday and a mandatory evacuation order for all visitors and residents on Hatteras Island was to take effect at noon Monday. This includes all areas of Hatteras Island including the villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras Village.

A mandatory evacuation for residents and visitors in other areas of Dare County goes into effect at 7 a.m. Tuesday. This includes the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo, Roanoke Island and the Dare County mainland.

Evacuation routes and more information can be found on the Dare County website. Following the storm, Dare County will use a staged re-entry process. Entry will not be allowed without proper identification.

Dare County Emergency Management can be reached at 252-475-5655.

Learn More

About the Author

Staff Report

The story was compiled by staff members of Coastal Review Online.