Posted in:

Voter Registration Deadline Extended

RALEIGH– Voter registration deadline has been extended to 5 p.m. Monday, Oct. 15, for residents in 28 North Carolina counties most affected by Hurricane Florence.

The North Carolina General Assembly passed legislation signed by Gov. Roy Cooper this week to extend the regular voter registration deadline for these counties: Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Wayne and Wilson.

The registration deadline remains 5 p.m. Friday, Oct. 12, in all other North Carolina counties.

The State Board of Elections & Ethics Enforcement has set up a special webpage, with information about voting post-Hurricane Florence.

“We do not want this devastating storm to keep people from voting,” said Kim Westbrook Strach, state board executive director, in a statement. “Voters may cast ballots by mail or in person during the early voting period or on Election Day. We hope voters take advantage of the option that works best for them at this difficult time.”

Any registered voter may:

Eligible voters who miss the regular registration deadline may still register and vote in their county of residence during the in-person early voting period Oct. 17-Nov. 3. Voters who register and vote at the same time must provide proof of residence.

Learn More

  • Map of voter registration deadlines
  • State Board’s Voter Search tool with voter registrations and 2018 sample ballots
  • Same-day registration is here.
About the Author

Staff Report

The story was compiled by staff members of Coastal Review Online.