Posted in:

Cooper Asks For Federal Disaster Declaration

Debris indicates the extent of damage wrought by Hurricane Dorian on Ocracoke Island. Photo: C. Leinbach/Ocracoke Observer

RALEIGH — Gov. Roy Cooper requested on Friday that President Trump issue a major disaster declaration for North Carolina counties affected earlier this month by Hurricane Dorian, a step toward getting federal assistance.

Gov. Roy Cooper

The request covered Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell and Washington counties.

A major disaster declaration would trigger the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance program, providing supplemental federal grants for debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures and the repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain private nonprofit organizations.

Cooper’s request states that all minimum thresholds for damage estimates for indicated counties and the state to qualify for a declaration had been met. The threshold for the state is $14.3 million.

“Hurricane Dorian’s destruction disrupted life on North Carolina’s coast. These grants are designed to offer public assistance to get North Carolinians on the path to recovery,” Cooper said in a statement.

The program also provides assistance with hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process to protect damaged facilities from future storms.

The federal share of assistance is not less than 75% of the eligible cost.

About the Author

Staff Report

The story was compiled by staff members of Coastal Review Online.