Posted in:

Towns, Counties Set Curfews Ahead of Dorian

Several coastal communities have enacted a curfew as Hurricane Dorian approaches and additional areas are now under mandatory evacuation.

A curfew has been established for Kill Devil Hills from 8 p.m. Thursday through noon Friday.

A curfew will go into effect for Ocracoke Island from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. starting Wednesday. A ban on alcohol sales started at 4 p.m. Wednesday and will begin at 4 p.m. Thursday for the mainland of Hyde County.

There will be no access into Dare County beginning at 8 p.m. Thursday and curfews have been established for all areas of Dare County except Kitty Hawk beginning at 8 p.m. Thursday through noon Friday and could be extended based on conditions. No curfews have been established for Kitty Hawk.

Hurricane Dorian is expected to cause extreme ocean and soundside flooding, heavy rain and hurricane force winds and will cause roads to become unsafe for travel and some areas will become inaccessible, according to county officials. N.C. 12 on Hatteras Island is especially vulnerable to flooding and will likely become compromised and impassable.

Power outages are likely for an extended period of time. To view storm surge estimates for your particular area, visit the National Hurricane Center’s storm inundation map. Rainfall totals are estimated at 8 to 10 inches with up to 15 in some areas. In addition, winds are expected to reach hurricane force at the height of the storm.

Craven County has enacted a countywide curfew for residents, visitors and businesses in unincorporated areas of Craven County from 9 p.m. Thursday through 7 a.m. Friday.

Havelock has issued a curfew that will go into effect at 9 p.m. Thursday until noon Friday.

Carteret County has a curfew in place from dusk to dawn. Morehead City’s town-wide curfew begins at 7 p.m. Thursday, through the duration of Hurricane Dorian.

Emerald Isle curfew goes into effect 7 p.m. Thursday. The curfew will remain in effect until further notice.

A mandatory evacuation order is now in effect for parts of areas south of the Elizabeth City Regional Airport, in Camden County ‘s Shiloh area and south and Oxford Heights community of Elizabeth City.

Brunswick County set a mandatory curfew beginning 10 p.m. Thursday through 7 a.m. Friday, Sept. 6. Some municipalities in Brunswick County have issued or could issue mandatory curfews within their jurisdictions. View a list of municipal websites on the county website.

About the Author

Staff Report

The story was compiled by staff members of Coastal Review Online.