Posted in:

FEMA Grants Request for More Assistance

RALEIGH — Federal Emergency Management Agency approved Gov. Roy Cooper’s request to add 12 more counties to those eligible to receive reimbursements for Hurricane Dorian response and recovery expenses his office announced Friday.

The addition of Beaufort, Camden, Columbus, Greene, Hoke, Lenoir, Onslow, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson and Wayne counties brings the total to 26 North Carolina counties designated for Public Assistance as part of the Hurricane Dorian major disaster declaration.

The dozen counties join Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell, and Washington counties, which were included in President Trump’s initial major disaster declaration on Oct. 4, in FEMA Public Assistance funding being available to local governments, state agencies and certain private nonprofits.

“This approval means more towns and counties will be able to use federal funds to cover their storm response and clean-up costs so Dorian will not put their local budgets in a bind,” said Cooper in a statement.

Public Assistance is a cost-sharing program to reimburse eligible disaster-related debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair or restoration of public facilities such as roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, public utilities, parks and recreational facilities.

Cooper may request additional counties be added to the Public Assistance declaration as more information is gathered.

About the Author

Staff Report

The story was compiled by staff members of Coastal Review Online.