Posted in:

Bladen, Chowan Eligible for FEMA Aid

The state’s request to add Bladen and Chowan counties to the disaster declaration for Hurricane Dorian has been approved by the federal government.

“Today’s news is an important step forward for North Carolinians recovering from Hurricane Dorian and we are committed to helping these individuals get the necessary assistance they deserve,” said Gov. Roy Cooper in the announcement released Tuesday by his office.

Federal Emergency Management Agency public assistance will become available to the local governments, state agencies and certain private nonprofits in these  two counties, allowing for reimbursement of costs spent repairing infrastructure and public facilities damaged by Hurricane Dorian.

The total North Carolina counties eligible for FEMA Public Assistance for Dorian is now 28 and include Beaufort, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Greene, Hoke, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Washington and Wayne counties.

FEMA Public Assistance is a cost-sharing program with FEMA providing 75% and the state 25%, to reimburse eligible disaster-related debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair or restoration of public facilities such as roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, public utilities, parks and recreational facilities.

About the Author

Staff Report

The story was compiled by staff members of Coastal Review Online.