Posted in:

Dare County Restricts Visitor Access

Dare County Control Group has made the decision to restrict visitor access to Dare County beginning at 2 p.m. Tuesday in response to updated guidelines from the CDC to avoid discretionary travel to limit the spread of  COVID-19. Photo: CDC

Update 3 p.m. Tuesday:

Dare County, which set up checkpoints at 2 p.m. Tuesday to restrict visitor access, will accept additional types of identification for reentry due to some users experiencing difficulties while applying online for entry permits.

In lieu of an entry permit, the following will be accepted:

  • Permanent residents will be allowed entry with a valid North Carolina driver’s license or government-issued identification card with a local address.
  • Nonresident property owners will be allowed entry with a current tax bill or parcel data sheet with matching current government-issued identification or an entry permit with matching current government-issued identification.
  • Nonresident employees may show documentation providing proof of employment such as pay stubs, employee identification badges, etc.

Original Post 12:30 p.m. Tuesday:

Visitor access to Dare County will be restricted beginning at 2 p.m. Tuesday.

Dare County announced at noon Tuesday that the county control group made the decision to not allow visitors access in response to updated guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to avoid discretionary travel and follow the The President’s Coronavirus Guidelines for America.

Checkpoints will be established starting at 2 p.m. Tuesday at entry points to the county. To avoid contact with personnel, officials ask that reentry permits be displayed on vehicle dashboards for clear visibility for checkpoint personnel. Reentry permits from previous years will not be accepted.

Permanent residents, nonresident property owners and nonresident employees of Dare County businesses may review entry guidelines at Staff is working to activate the online permitting system by 1 p.m.

Visitors will not be allowed to travel through Dare County to access Currituck, Hyde or Tyrrell counties. People who reside, own property or work in Corolla in Currituck County or Ocracoke in Hyde County will be allowed entry.

“While there are currently no individuals who have tested positive for COVID-19 in Dare County, officials weighed the potential benefits for community health along with the tremendous impacts these restrictions have on our community,” according to a news release. “These restrictions may be inconvenient, disappointing and have financial impacts, however, they were made in the interest of public safety to limit the spread of COVID-19.”

Personnel working at the Emergency Operations Center are available to answer COVID-19-related questions using a dedicated phone line, 252-475-5008. A high volume of calls is expected. If you reach a voicemail, leave a message and your call will be returned as soon as possible.

In addition, the Outer Banks Hospital has implemented new visitor restrictions and is only allowing one immediate family member 16 and older and not exhibiting any symptoms of illness to visit a patient at the Outer Banks Hospital or medical group clinic, per the county.

On Tuesday, the Outer Banks Hospital began screening patients and visitors for symptoms as they enter the medical office building and main lobby.  Patients and visitors with illness will be masked and asked to sanitize their hands prior to going to their appointment.

Cancellations, closings and the most current information from the towns and the National Park Service is available at

About the Author

Staff Report

The story was compiled by staff members of Coastal Review Online.